top of page
Writer's pictureAidan Gauci

Task 2 - Exploring the Creative Thinking Process

After choosing the final theme - A Game of Time, it was time to work on the next step of this project.

First I had to research something which inspires me and that correlates with my theme. I decided to look into music for inspiration, and in fact, I chose one of my favourite songs by Freddie Mercury - Time Waits for No one (linked Youtube Video). Then, I narrowed it down to the part which goes like this:


We've not listened to

Or spoken about it at all

The fact that time is running out for us all



I think that this part specifically focuses on this struggle or game of time which we all go through. This phase focuses on the fact that time goes forward and runs out at some point, with no chance of turning it backwards.


Furthermore, I moved on to creating a mindmap to brainstorm my ideas that came out while thinking of the theme. This is what came out of it:

As one can see, I managed to extract loads of thoughts from this theme, which then I narrowed down to using 5 of them to form the interpretation: Busy, Parallel lives versus ticking clocks.


From this, it was possible to move on to different visual solutions that I may use to portray this interpretation. These were my initial solutions:

  1. Short Video Clip focusing on different clocks and people.

  2. Series of Photos using clock and Playmobil puppets.

  3. Stop motion styled video.

From these solutions, I had to choose one, and therefore I made one that takes something from all of them. The final solution is a short video using different Playmobil models, with clocks behind them. They all start at 12:00 and change with different paces, together with the characters. The video will use stop motion as a style.


3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page