top of page
Writer's pictureAidan Gauci

Handwriting Animation

Updated: Jan 7, 2022

As part of my initial plans for this video project, I wanted it to end with a handwritten closing title "Spaghetti Froġa". However, I have never worked on such animations.


After doing some research online, I found that the best way to do such animation was by using Adobe After Effects. In fact, this YouTube tutorial was key to help me achieve my plans:


The Process

First, I had to open a new project file, and then create a new composition. Then, I wrote the text normally, setting the font Ananda (refer to mood board), the size and other usual settings.

Then, to animate it, I traced it using the Pen tool, where it created a mask for each letter. Finally, I chose the Stroke effect, and after applying some settings to make it work correctly, I got the below result:


Conclusion

Overall, I am quite satisfied with this result, especially since it was my first time, and also I am quite new to this software. For now I will put this into my first draft of the video, but if I will have some extra time, I will play a bit with After Effects to improvise its tracing to make it look more perfect.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page