top of page
Writer's pictureAidan Gauci

Playing with lights

Updated: Dec 1, 2021

When working on any kind of project, experimenting is a must, and that is what I did. I got my equipment and lights and decided to test out the setup. The main focus of this test was light, with the aim of deciding the best light setup for the video clip.


So for this experiment, I have used:

  • DSLR Camera - Canon EOS 250D.

  • Moving Head Tripod.

  • A set of 3 Panther Lights.

... and the set-up looked something like this:

The main changes that I have applied in these trials were playing with the brightness of the lights and applying different filters to them to see which ones fit better than the others. One thing to note before moving on to the results was that although I initially planned to use sunlight, I had to improvise by artificial lighting since the sunlight was not strong enough for the camera, especially since it was a bit of a cloudy day.


The below are some of the results that came out from these trials.

(Note that for this experiment I worked with my brother and not the actual actor for the video)




Also, I did a short clip of different light settings configurations. Mainly I have used yellow and brown filters. However, in the end, I have overdone it with the yellow.


As a conclusion of this experiment, I think that the yellowish light is good to use for this project. Furthermore, on the day of the filming, I will also try using redheads from outside the window to try and fake some natural light, because I felt lack of that during this experiment.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page