top of page
Writer's pictureAidan Gauci

Magazine Preparation (3) - Using Adobe InDesign

Updated: Jan 4, 2022


Undoubtedly, Adobe InDesign is one of the handiest tools when it comes to designing newspaper/magazine publications, and any other kind of designs for print. Therefore, while thinking about how I can do the magazine as part of my assignment, I had to take it into consideration as the software that I will be using. My only issue with that was that I never had the opportunity to use it, making my knowledge extremely limited.


I started doing some research online on how to use it, and I found this two and a half-hour long tutorial, explaining the software from the most basic steps. This tutorial covered a number of topics, such as the setting up of a document, creating shapes, choosing colours, creating text boxes and saving text styles amongst other basic topics. It also covered some auxiliary topics which I found useful, such as choosing fonts, even by using Adobe Fonts, which is a database of fonts by Adobe, providing numerous fonts that can be used freely for commercial purposes. Also, there was a section where the instructor gave some quick and easy tips that can be very convenient. Finally, it concluded by demonstrating how the designs should be exported when ready, giving the most useful basic settings.



Jpeg Exports of my tutorial exercise, where I created a front page, spread and a back page, just like the task for this unit.



After watching the tutorial and following the practical exercise, I feel that I got a good grip of this software and I feel more confident and ready to continue with the Magazine task of this unit, as well as other basic publishing works.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page