top of page
Writer's pictureAidan Gauci

Simulating the Natural light

Updated: Jan 20, 2022

While I was setting up for the last trial before the actual filming, I realised that since it was cloudy, I was not achieving a decent amount of sunlight. Also, I took into consideration the case where we will not manage to film everything before it starts getting dark, and therefore I knew that I had to re-create sunlight to have it consistent throughout the whole video.


After thinking and trying different things, I tried putting one redhead outside the kitchen pointing inside through the kitchen sink window. After giving some adjustments of intensity, height, angle and distance from the window, I was satisfied with the effect that I have achieved.


These are some photos I took that demonstrate the above:

Fig. 1: The redhead that I have set up pointing to the kitchen window
Fig. 2: The Effect achieved

A small comment with regards to Figure 2 above, at the time I took this photo it was already completely dark, and it does not show. Although the window looks overexposed, that does not affect me since I will not film it. The most important for me was the light how it reflected on the kitchen.

Furthermore, I look forward to also playing with colours during the advanced stages of post-production.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page