top of page
Writer's pictureAidan Gauci

Trials on Set

Before filming the actual video, I wanted to try out the set-up. First of all, I had to create a light set-up for the first part of the video, since I did not try it out in the first part of the trials that I did last week.


Equipment Used

So, to begin with, this is the list of equipment that I used to conduct these trials:

  • Canon Eos 6D Mk II - Filming at Full HD 50fps

  • Canon Eos 250D - Filming at Full HD 50fps (As a B Cam)

  • Tripods

  • 1 set of 3 Panther Lights

  • 1 set of 3 Red-head lights


Lights Set-up

As one can see in the above diagram/pictures, I have used the 3 panther lights (P1-P3) and 1 redhead (RH). I set the Panther lights in the traditional 3-point lighting system, where P1 was the Keylight, P2 was the backlight and P3 was the fill light. Now, with regards to the Redhead lighting, since the room's natural light was white, and I wanted to add that warm white colour to emphasize the stone colour, I have set up 1 redhead, at the corner of the room with a diffuser pointing upward to the roof and wall of the room. I felt that this gave a better feel to the room's lighting situation, and will keep it for the actual filming.


Shot angles


The room that I am filming in is relatively small, therefore it makes it more difficult to pick appropriate locations for shots. However, after trying several angles, I have managed to find one, as demonstrated above with the photos. Furthermore, since I have 2 cameras, I took the occasion to set up one of them at a different angle, to get also a b cam, which makes it more efficient when working post-production, to make smoother cuts.


The choice of music


In my video, I am giving some special importance to the choice of music, especially since it will be part of the story. I wanted to choose a song which is neither too modern, but nor too old. After some research, I picked up one of Adele's recent songs, since it compliments the video, and also it is one of the songs that youth listen to.


Concluding comments



Overall, I am satisfied with the results that I got from this experiment. I will still try to improvise further in the actual filming, but I believe that I am ready to film the actual video as I have done for the experiment.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page