top of page
Writer's pictureAidan Gauci

Video Post-Production (1) - File and Project Organisation

One of the parts in post-production which I see as fundamental is the organisation and logging of footage in a project file. There are various ways and systems that are used to log the footage in the project, and I will be sharing the system that I used to work on this project.


Before even creating the project file, it is useful to organise the footage in different folders (one per camera, and if the audio is separate, one folder for audio) as shown below. I have also downloaded the music that I will use as well, and put it in the folder MUSIC.

The pictures above show how I set-up my file hierarchy. I have the footage folder, which I divided into a folder for each camera (CAM 1 & 2), and a folder of extra footage which I have selected from the trials which I have previously done. Then, there is also the Project folder, in which I save my project file, and also the files that Adobe Premiere creates (autosave, renders etc).


Then, I opened a new project file and imported the same hierarchy into it, just by picking the folders (namely Footage and Music) into the bin. I find this feature quite convenient because like this I have everything uniformly organised, and if I need to work on another PC, I only need to carry one folder which I have everything in it.

Importing my footage into Adobe Premiere with just 1 drag of folder

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page